JR Kansai Wide Area Pass : Details

JR Kansai Wide Pass Information

The JR Kansai Wide Pass allows for unlimited travel on the following rail company lines:

The Sanyo Shinkansen between Shin-Osaka and Okayama, Super Hakuto from Osaka/Kyoto to Tottori, Express trains, Special Rapid Services, Rapid Services and Local trains on JR-WEST Conventional line.

The trains that cannot be used with the JR Kansai Wide Pass are the Tokaido Shinkansen (Shin-Osaka⇔Tokyo), Sanyo Shinkansen (Okayama⇔Hakata) and Kyushu Shinkansen (Hakata⇔Kagoshima-Chuo)


  • Available in Ordinary (Standard) Class only.
  • Validity: 5 consecutive days.
  • The full name of the passenger as per passport including middle name must be provided at time of booking
  • Rail Europe will issue an exchange voucher which must be presented in Japan.

Important: Passengers may only purchase ONE Kansai WIDE Area Pass per visit to Japan.

List of JR Kansai Wide Pass Exchange Offices:

Rail Europe will issue an exchange voucher which must be presented in Japan, at one of the following locations - Kyoto, Shin-Osaka, Osaka, Kansai-airport, Sannomiya, Okayama, Wakayama, Toyooka, Kinosaki-Onsen. You will receive two Exchange Order vouchers labelled A and B (located in top right hand corner) which must be presented locally within 3 months of issue date. Your Rail Pass is then valid for travel to commence within 1 month.

Important: At the time of exchange you will be asked to fill out a short application form and show your passport with the temporary visitor stamp that you would have received on entry into Japan. You must have your passport with you at the time of the exchange. A photocopy is not acceptable and without your passport the exchange cannot be made.

JR Kansai Wide Area Pass